Seeds to sow now (October)

There are a few things that can be sown at this time of the year, especially if you can overwinter them under cover in the shelter of a cool greenhouse.
I have just started Sweet Peas, Winter Lettuce, Pak Choi and Komatsuna(Japanese Spinach). For more information about these, click Wikipedia –
www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Komatsuna
www.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pak_choi

 

My usual practice is to soak the seeds in old magarine cartons, then prick the chitted seed out into 3″ pots. The photos show some I started about 5 weeks ago.
They will be ready soon to plant out into the ground.
I shall probably blog in greater detail about my method some time in the future.
This note applies to South Wales and places with a similar climate.

 

I wish you success,
Colin.

 

 

 

Leave a comment